SG Crawlers Forum
Search
 
 

Display results as :
 


Rechercher Advanced Search

SGCrawlers - Crawl & Trail videos
SGCrawlers - Bash Tour Drift videos
Who is online?
In total there are 2 users online :: 0 Registered, 0 Hidden and 2 Guests

None

[ View the whole list ]


Most users ever online was 57 on Fri 23 Sep 2016 - 12:58
Latest topics
» vHOBBY RC videos
by CraftRC Yesterday at 19:20

» Hello all! Dan here
by csd8888 Fri 5 Oct 2018 - 8:27

» [Offroad Trails] Offroading at Tampines Quarry 16 Sep 2018 - 0900hrs
by boolean21 Sat 15 Sep 2018 - 18:41

» [Scale Trail] Woodgrove Ave - Sunday 12 Aug 2018 0900hrs
by boolean21 Sat 11 Aug 2018 - 22:51

» [Trail and Bash!] Woodgrove Ave - Sunday 22 Jul 2018 0900hrs
by boolean21 Sat 21 Jul 2018 - 19:39

» [Scale Trail] Woodgrove Ave - Sunday 01 Jul 2018 0900hrs
by boolean21 Sat 30 Jun 2018 - 20:39

» WTS : Redcat Gen 7 Pro
by staypuft Fri 29 Jun 2018 - 20:21

» wts hobbywing esc + motor
by kelvintan_hc Thu 28 Jun 2018 - 15:36

» Axial roll cage crash
by CraftRC Fri 1 Jun 2018 - 20:16

» Jeep cherokee XJ crawling
by CraftRC Sat 26 May 2018 - 21:54

» Jeep cherokee XJ crawling
by CraftRC Sat 26 May 2018 - 21:54

» Extreme Rock Crawler Axial Wraith
by CraftRC Tue 8 May 2018 - 17:35

» [Scale Trail] Woodgrove Ave - Sunday 06 May 2018 0900hrs
by boolean21 Sat 5 May 2018 - 17:14

» Cab Land Rover Defender
by CraftRC Fri 4 May 2018 - 17:41

» Cab Land Rover Defender
by CraftRC Fri 4 May 2018 - 17:41

» Gaz-66 Military RC Truck
by CraftRC Thu 26 Apr 2018 - 20:14

» SG Crawler Coffee shop
by ket2175 Tue 24 Apr 2018 - 18:31

» Black Bandit Jeep Cherokee
by CraftRC Sun 22 Apr 2018 - 19:51

» [Rifle Range Trail] Rifle Range Road - 22 Apr 2018 0900hrs
by boolean21 Sat 21 Apr 2018 - 20:14

» 4x4 Winter offroad
by CraftRC Wed 18 Apr 2018 - 20:10

December 2018
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Calendar Calendar

Affiliates
free forum

Free Domain Name
Google+

Boolean21's AEV Jeep Brute 1/10 scratch build

Page 4 of 4 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Go down

Re: Boolean21's AEV Jeep Brute 1/10 scratch build

Post by boolean21 on Mon 10 Oct 2016 - 19:11

Rusty Rusty Rusty! Maintenance time! Sort of... Very Happy

Time to write my diary... Smile

Built the AEV Jeep Brute a couple of years back...
Ran it in mud, water, and in sea water at East Coast Park.

Survived all these years until recently, the front axle seems to be stuck....
So, time to open up and take a look....

Look at the wear on the axle case... Razz
One of my favourite and most used trucks... I'm sure you can see based on the axle case...

  



The internals..... rust and mud... mixed with grease from the day it was built....
Seems like the ball bearings gave way... and the little metal balls in the ball bearings came off and got stuck on the gears... hence causing issues on the axle....





Gave it a good scrub to remove most of the mud and most importantly, the little metal balls...



Coated the gears with Marine Grease... this is the same tube that I bought when I started this hobby.... It lasts for years! Very Happy

 


Everything seems to run smoothly... so... time to reassemble...

 


And done!




The next maintenance schedule will be when the axle breaks again... Razz
Will likely just replace the whole axle the next time round instead of swapping the parts.

Will try it out during the next trail!
Thanks for looking!

_________________
My Blogs: MyHoncho Blog | Boolean21 RC Blog
Youtube: SGCrawlers RC Channel | BooleanRC Video Channel
Facebook: SGCrawlers FB Page  | Boolean21 FB Page
Instagram: http://instagram.com/SGCrawlers
Twitter: http://twitter.com/SGCrawlers
avatar
boolean21
Crawler

Posts : 5032
Join date : 2011-08-18
Location : Deep inside the Jungle

View user profile https://www.youtube.com/MyHonchoSG

Back to top Go down

Page 4 of 4 Previous  1, 2, 3, 4

Back to top

- Similar topics

 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum